Home Features History Letters from Spain New Arrivals Profiles Recipes Sightseeing Vocabulary Weather

July 1

Saints Days: Simeón, Julio, Casto, Dominicano and Leonor

612 - in Visigothic Hispania, King Sisebuto approves the law against the Jews.
1431 - The Battle of La Higueruela takes place in Granada, leading to a modest advance of the Kingdom of Castile during the Reconquista.
1520 - Conquistadors led by Hernán Cortés fight their way out of Tenochtitlan after nightfall
1674 - Spain, France & Netherlands form Triple Alliance

Jordi Mollá - Archive photo

1898 - Spanish–American War: The Battle of San Juan Hill is fought in Santiago de Cuba.
1905 - Gijón, the football club Real Sporting de Gijón was founded.
1966 - The Spanish Museum of Abstract Art opens in Cuenca
1976 - Carlos Arias Navarro resigns, the last Prime Minister of Spain appointed by the dictator Francisco Franco.
1993 - Officially founded the Universities of Jaén and Huelva.
1997 - The Guardia Civil find the prison officer, José Antonio Ortega Lara, in a hide in Mondragón. He had been kidnapped and held by ETA for 532 days
2010 - Sandro Rosell assumes the presidency of FC Barcelona.
2011 - Police operation against the SAGE arrests the director Teddy Bautista and 8 managers for corporate crime and misappropriation.
2012 - The Spanish soccer team wins UEFA Euro 2012 held in Poland and Ukraine crush Italy 4-0, being the first soccer team in history to win two consecutive titles.
2017 - José Antonio Ortega arrived in Burgos after being liberated by ETA on July 1, 1987 after being held in captivity for 532 days - now, 20 years later, the hide where he was held captive has finally been sealed with concrete. The horror of his captivity and the murder of Miguel Ángel Blanco accelerated the end of ETA.
2022 - From 30 June to 1 July 2022, the Chair of the NATO Military Committee, Admiral Rob Bauer, stayed in Spain, following the NATO Summit, to meet with His Majesty King Felipe VI, Spanish Minister of Defence, Margarita Robles Fernández, and the Spanish Chief of Defence, Admiral López Calderón. The Chair also visited the NATO Rapid Deployable Corps Spain (NRDC-ESP), where he met with its Commander, Lieutenant General Fernando Garcia-Vaquero, and gave a lecture.

1723 – Pedro Rodríguez de Campomanes y Pérez, Ist Count of Campomanes, economist and literary, born in Tineo, Asturias (d. 1802)
1772 - Rafael Esteve, draftsman (d. 1847).
1891 - Nicolás Franco, solider and politician (d. 1977).
1902 - Félix Quesada, football player and trainer (d. 1959).
1902 - Josep Lluís Sert, architect (d. 1983).
1908 - Luis Regueiro, footballer (d. 1995).
1917 - Álvaro Domecq y Díez, aristocrat (d. 2005)
1924 - Antoni Ramallets, footballer and manager (d. 2013)
1939 - José Antonio Marina, philosopher.
1944 - Abel Gomez Moreno composer, musicologist and director of music.
1951 - José Nazabal, cyclist
1968 - Jordi Mollà, actor, director, and screenwriter
1953 - Jesús María Sanz Iparraguirre, singer songwriter.
1956 - Ernesto Sáenz de Buruaga, journalist.
1964 - Cristina Cifuentes, politician.
1974 - Octavi Pujades, actor.
1977 - Verónica Sánchez, actress.
1984 - Rafita Gomar Moreno, actor
1991 - Lucas Vázquez, footballer.

1109 - Alfonso VI King of León and Castile (b. 1040)
1321 - Maria de Molina, Castilian queen between 1284 and 1295.
1482 - Alfonso Carrillo de Acuña, Spanish cardinal (b 1410).
1964 - Julio Casares, philologist, diplomat and violinist (b 1877).
1971 - Camilo Alonso Vega, soldier (b. 1885).
1990 - Mario Cabré, actor, television presenter and bullfighter (b. 1916).
1994 -  Dominic Lucero, Spanish-American actor and dancer (b. 1967)
2008 - Lucio Ballesteros, journalist and poet (b. 1906).
2009 - Baltasar Porcel, writer (b. 1937).
2009 - Josefa Martín Luengo, anarchist educator (b 1944.).
2010 - Ramon Ayerra, writer and jurist (b 1937.).
2010 - Enrique Sánchez-Monge y Parellada, engineer (b 1921.).