Home Features History Letters from Spain New Arrivals Profiles Recipes Sightseeing Vocabulary Weather

March 24

Saint’s Day for Rómulo, Segundo and Epigmenio.

818 - in al-Andalus, Al-Hakam I ordered crackdowns a riot occurred in the suburb of Cordoba.
1387 - English victory over a Franco-Castilian-Flemish fleet in the Battle of Margate, off the coast of Margate
1808 - Fernando VII is enthusiastically welcomed as the new monarch by the people of Madrid, as he had ended the government of Manuel Godoy.
1814 - Fernando VII comes to take over the government after the War of Spanish Independence.
1815 - Fernando VII instituted the Order of Isabella the Catholic to reward services rendered in the American colonies.

Enrique Granados - Photo BBC Music

1875 - during the Carlist Wars, Alfonso XII takes charge of the Northern Army.
1885 - Barcelona, Valenti Almirall, fulfilling the custom testamentary journalist and playwright Rossend Arus, Arus founded the Public Library, with 25,000 volumes.
2006 - a permanent ceasefire announced by the ETA terrorist organisation comes into effect, and is ended with a car bomb explosion in the car park of Terminal 4 at Madrid Barajas Airport, killing two people. ETA did not announce an end to the ceasefire until June the following year.
2007 - In San Salvador de Alesga (Asturias) the Teverga Pre-history Park was inaugurated
2015 -  Germanwings Flight 9525 was a scheduled international passenger flight from Barcelona–El Prat Airport in Spain to Düsseldorf Airport in Germany. The flight was operated by Germanwings, a low-cost carrier owned by the German airline Lufthansa.  the aircraft, an Airbus A320-211, crashed 100 km (62 mi; 54 nmi) north-west of Nice in the French Alps. All 144 passengers and six crew members were killed.
The crash was deliberately caused by the co-pilot, Andreas Lubitz, who had previously been treated for suicidal tendencies and declared unfit to work by his doctor. Lubitz kept this information from his employer and instead reported for duty. Shortly after reaching cruise altitude and while the captain was out of the cockpit, Lubitz locked the cockpit door and initiated a controlled descent that continued until the aircraft hit a mountainside.

Tirso de Molina -  portrait by fray Antonio Manuel de Hartalejo - https://www.bne.es/es
1579 - Tirso de Molina,  Baroque dramatist, poet, and Roman Catholic monk. He is primarily known for writing The Trickster of Seville and the Stone Guest, the play from which the character Don Juan originates. His work also includes female protagonists and the exploration of sexual issues.
It is only within the last century that it has become possible to give an outline of his life and only a fraction of his plays have been preserved. The earliest of his extant pieces is dated 1605; in 1624, he had written three hundred plays, and in 1634, he stated that he had composed four hundred within the previous twenty years; however, not more than eighty of his plays are currently in existence.
Tirso de Molina is known as the author of The Trickster of Seville and the Stone Guest, the piece in which Don Juan is first presented onstage. However, whether or not other works are correctly attributed to him is disputed; as thought by scholars such as Fernando Cantalapiedra and Alfredo Rodríguez, El Burlador de Sevilla and El Condenado por desconfiado may have been written by Andrés de Claramonte.
His works cover multiple genres and scenarios. El Condenado por desconfiado describes a philosophical enigma, while Prudence in Woman is a historical interpretation. Averígüelo Vargas and La villana de Vallecas (The Peasant Woman of Vallecas) write about female characters
His reputation may have extended beyond the Pyrenees in his own lifetime, as indicated by how James Shirley's Opportunity is derived from El Castigo del penséque; however, his name was almost forgotten until the end of the 18th century, when some of his pieces were recast by Dionisio Solis and later by Juan Carretero
The height of his fame occurred between 1839 and 1842, when an incomplete edition of his plays was published by Juan Eugenio Hartzenbusch. He is now accepted as one of the greatest dramatists of Spain
In 2012, Tirso's Condenado por Desconfiado was performed as Damned by Despair at the Olivier Theatre in London, in a new version by Frank McGuinness.(d. 1648).
1607 - Carlos-Jacinto de Urríes y Monleón, noble.
1808 - Maria Malibran, Spanish-French soprano (d. 1836)
1809 - Mariano José de Larra, journalist and author (d. 1837)
1924 - Jerónimo Arozamena, judge (d. 2010).
1930 - Agustín González, actor .
1930 - Cristóbal Halffter, classical composer and orchestra conductor.
1944 - Alonso Puerta, politician.
1947 - José Pérez Ocaña, painter and activist (d. 1983).
1948 - Eduardo Mendicutti, writer.
1949 - Joaquim Maria Puyal, Catalan journalist.
1952 - Quim Monzó, writer.
1953 - María Garralón, actress.
1954 - María Pilar Queralt del Hierro, writer and historian.
1957 - Sílvia Munt, actress and filmmaker.
1960 - The award-winning actor, Agustín González, who worked during his lengthy career with noted directors such as Fernando Fernán Gómez, Carlos Saura, Mario Camus and Juan Antonio Bardem, was born in Madrid.
1961 - Pasqual Ferry, cartoonist.
1968 - Antonio Karmona Herrera, footballer.
1975 - Arturo Valls, actor and tv presenter.
1977 - Ferran Laviña, basketball player.
1987 - María Valverde, actress.
1995 - Enzo Fernández, French-Spanish footballer

1526 - Antonio de Acuna, executed in the castle of Simancas (Valladolid).
1575 - Joseph ben Ephraim Karo, Spanish-Portuguese rabbi and author (b. 1488)
1801 - Diego José de Cádiz, Capuchin friar (b. 1743).
1916 - The composer and classical pianist, Enrique Granados, died in the English Channel in 1916 after the passenger ferry he and his wife were travelling on to France was torpedoed by a German U-boat.(b. 1867)
1951 - José Enrique Varela, soldier.
1986 - Eduardo González-Gallarza, military man and aviator (b. 1898).
1987 - Vicente Calderon, businessman, president of Atletico Madrid.
2008 - Rafael Azcona, novelist and screenwriter (b. 1926).
2009 - Ricard Salvat, dramatist and director (b. 1934).
2010 - Julia Lopez de la Torre, journalist (b 1953.).
2019 - Pancracio Celdrán, professor, intellectual and journalist (b. 1942)