Home Features History Letters from Spain New Arrivals Profiles Recipes Sightseeing Vocabulary Weather

November 25

Saint’s Day for Gonzalo, Beatriz and Catalina.

1491 - The terms for the final capitulation of Granada were signed between the Catholic Kings and the Moorish King of Granada, Boabdil, relinquishing sovereignty of the Kingdom of Granada to Ferdinand and Isabella. He surrendered the keys of the city on 2nd January 1492, in the culmination of the Reconquista and a day which ended centuries of Moorish rule in Spain

Ferdinand and Isabella - www.spanishwars.net

1496 - Luis Alonso Fernández de Lugo was appointed Adelantado of the Canary Islands.
1550 - In the Viceroyalty of New Spain, the government of the viceroy Luis de Velasco and Ruiz de Alarcón begins.
1578 - Philip II in Madrid ordered the American bishops to punish clerics who abuse the Indians.
1724 - First meeting of the Parliament of the Spanish kingdom in Madrid.
1755 - King Ferdinand VI of Spain grants royal protection to the Beaterio de la Compañia de Jesus, now known as the Congregation of the Religious of the Virgin Mary.
1776 - The Spaniard Manuel Centurion takes possession from his position as General Commander of Guyana.
1812 - In Mexico, mexican patriotas took the city of Oaxaca from the Spanish 
1897 - In Madrid, Luis Muñoz Rivera receives the Autonomous Charter of Puerto Rico, from the hands of the President of the Spanish Government, Práxedes Mateo Sagasta.
1999 - A 5-year-old Cuban boy, Elian Gonzalez, is rescued by fishermen while floating in an inner tube off the Florida coast

1562 - Lope Féliz de Vega Carpio, playwright and poet (Angelica, Arcadia) born in Madrid (d. 1635)
1852 - Eduardo de Hinojosa y Naveros, politician, historian and archeologist born in Alhama de Granada. (d, 1919 in Madrid)

1883 - Diego Martínez Barrio, was a politician during the Second Spanish Republic, Prime Minister of Spain between 9 October 1933 and 26 December 1933 and was briefly appointed again by Manuel Azaña on 19 July 1936 - two days after the beginning of the Spanish Civil War. born in Sevilla (d. 1962 in Paris) 
1906 - Joaquín Collar Serra, military pilot (d. 1933)
1922 - Gloria Lasso, French-Spanish singer.
1925 - María Asquerino, actress.
1939 - Angelino Soler, cyclist.
1951 - The journalist, war correspondent, and internationally-renowned author, Arturo Pérez-Reverte, was born in Cartagena, Murcia.
1952 - Ignacio Fernández Toxo, union leader.
1953 - Manuel Hidalgo, writer and journalist.
1955 - Ramoncín, musician and composer.
1965 - Fernando Sallaberry, Puerto Rican singer of Spanish origin of the band Menudo 
1981 - Xabi Alonso, football midfielder (114 caps. Real Sociedad, Liverpool, Real Madrid, Bayern Munich) born in Tolosa
1987 - Alejo Malia, artist.

1534 - Beatriz Galindo, La latina, writer and humanist. (b. 1465)
1680 - Alfonso de Pacheco, soldier.
1849 - Juan Arolas, writer (b. 1805)
1881 - Fernando Herrero, "Cantaritos", bullfighter.
1885 - Alfonso XII of Spain, who became king in 1875 with the restoration of the monarchy at the end of the brief First Republic. (b. 1857)
1885 - Francisco Serrano Domínguez Cuenca y Pérez de Vargas, 1st Duke of la Torre, Grandee of Spain, Count of San Antonio was a marshal and statesman. He was Prime Minister (1868-69) and regent in 1869-70 (b. 1810)
1902 - Antonio Gisbert, artist situated on the cusp between the realist and romantic movements in art. (b. 1834)
1903 - Sabino Policarpo Arana Goiri, Sabin Polikarpo Arana Goiri,  Basque writer and founded of the Basque Nationalist Party. Arana is considered the father of Basque nationalism. He died in Sukarrieta at the age of 38 after falling ill with Addison's disease during time spent in prison (b. 1865)
1944 - José Villalba Riquelme, military (b. 1856)
1958 - Víctor de la Serna Espina, writer and journalist. (b. 1896)
1996 - Ricardo López Aranda, playwright born in Santander in 1934. in 1941 his family home was destroyed by the Santander fire. In 1958 he received National University Theatre Prize for his play 'Nunca amancerá' and published a version of Oedipus (b, 1934)
2008 - Ángel Campos Pámpano, poet from Extremadura (b. 1957)